The Transatlantic Democracy Working Group,  launched in April 2018, is made up of more than 65 former senior government officials, national security experts, faith leaders, scholars, and representatives of the human rights and democracy community, is committed to the protection of transatlantic democratic institutions and principles in defense of collective security. With democratic erosion in key NATO and EU countries, we will seek through bipartisan educational outreach to U.S. stakeholders and the public to prioritize a core value of the transatlantic alliance: that our democratic foundation is our security.

Susan Corke is the Director of the TDWG Secretariat which is an independent coordination platform housed at the German Marshall Fund of the United States.

Susan Corke
Director of Secretariat, Transatlantic Democracy Working Group
Senior Resident Fellow, The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Cell: +1 202 360 9149


The TDWG group is guided by an actively engaged, expert 10 person bipartisan Steering Committee. The Steering Committee functions as a leadership body, helping define the Working Group’s agenda and activities.

The founding Co-Chairs of the Steering Committee are Jeff Gedmin and Ambassador Norm Eisen.

Ambassador Norm Eisen
Steering Committee Co-Chair, TDWG
Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution
Former U.S. Ambassador of the Czech Republic

Jeff Gedmin
Steering Committee Co-Chair, TDWG
Editor-in-Chief, The American Interest
Former President and CEO, Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty 

Steering Committee Members:

Gregory Feifer, Executive Director, Institute of Current World Affairs

Melissa Hooper, Director for Human Rights and Civil Society, Human Rights First

Jonathan Katz, Senior Fellow, German Marshall Fund of the United States

James Kirchick, Visiting Fellow, The Brookings Institution

Richard Kraemer, Fellow, Eurasia Program, Foreign Policy Research Institute

Thomas O. Melia, Washington Director, PEN America

Sofya Orlosky, Eurasia Program Manager, Freedom House